26th International Conference on Structural Mechanics in Reactor Technology 
8 – 13 August 2021 in Berlin, Germany

Message of the Chair
Second Announcement and Call for Abstracts

Jörg Aign, Conference Chair

Jörg Aign, Conference Chair

Since our last update on this website and amidst daily changing news on COVID-19, we have received very encouraging feedback on moving forward with the planning of SMiRT 26 as in-person conference. Therefore and as communicated before, we now take our next step in starting the official call for abstracts, not forgetting to keep on monitoring the worldwide situation in the meantime.

Over the course of the last years, many developments have taken place throughout the nuclear industry and the nuclear community.

To share the worldwide lessons learned and provide a platform for the exchange on new developments in the enhancement of safety, the nuclear community has for a long time organised international conferences all around the world.

Today SMiRT is the premium conference series bringing together nuclear industry and academic researchers to mark the advances in understanding and development of engineering solutions for the entire nuclear cycle ...

Our Sponsors

Particular Sponsor


General Sponsor


Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of International Conferences on Structural Mechanics in Reactor Technology

The future of mankind depends on a progressive energy supply. Celebrating the 50th anniversary of our conference series, SMiRT 26 is set to mark the beginning of a new era and will bring leaders, managers and engineers from around the world together to drive innovation for safe, reliable and efficient nuclear energy in the face of the global energy transition.


Welcome to Berlin, the Cradle of SMiRT

We are proud to invite you to the city in which Thomas Jaeger initiated the SMiRT conferences back in 1971: Berlin, Germany’s political, cultural and historical centre. Located in the heart of Europe, it is an easy city to access that has once again become a top ten destination amongst world metropolises. With Maritim Hotel Berlin as our venue, you will enjoy an ideal starting point for discovering the city’s living history, art treasures from all eras, trendy shopping and a wild club culture.

Berlin, a Capital of Masterminds

Humboldt, Einstein, Virchow, Koch, Meitner, Planck and many other famous scholars are testimonies to the fact that Berlin has always had a special attraction for scientists. Today, it is one of the largest and most diverse science regions of the continent, with roughly 200,000 people from around the world teaching, researching, working and studying here.




The German Society for Non-Destructive Testing (DGZfP) is a not-for-profit organisation and the body which coordinates all NDT activities in Germany.

The DGZfP encourages international communication be­tween research and development institutes, on the one hand, and NDT users, equipment manufacturers and service providers, on the other, by organising multinational conferences.


TÜV NORD is a worldwide leader in the field of technology services and supports companies and partners in more than 70 countries for a wide range of applications. Among these, TÜV NORD is a full service provider in the field of nuclear safety, supporting in Germany exclusively the regulatory body; in the international environment any party involved in nu­clear is a potential customer for consultancy, engineering and inspection services.


swissnuclear is the association of the Swiss nuclear power station operators and represents their joint interests in relation to the general public, politics and government.

swissnuclear provides support to the nuclear power stations for safe sustainable operations and in the further stages of their life cycle. It is committed to optimising overall conditions, internally and externally.

University of Kaiserslautern

The Institute of Structural Analysis and Dynamics is devoted to excellent scientific research and education in the fields of earthquake engineering, structural dynamics, probabilistic safety assessments and innovative and smart materials and structures. A specific focus area is the safety of nuclear structures, systems and components.


Sponsorship & Exhibition

Sponsorship Packages

SMiRT 26 offers attractive opportunities for friends and partners to become a sponsor of the conference. The options include:

  • Presenting your brand, company and products to conference attendees.
  • Meeting potential clients and potential employees face-to-face.
  • Priority in selecting exhibition space (with category 1 of sponsoring packages) for demonstrating services and products to several hundred potential partners and customers.

Please find the detailed sponsoring packages here and contact the SMiRT 26 secretariat via e-mail, if you are interested in sponsoring SMiRT 26.


A vendor exhibition will be conducted to complement the technical presentations.

Take a look at the floorplan and choose the best location for presenting your company, products and services to the professional audience.

Book your booth


Technical Programme
Call for Abstracts has started in July 2020!

While driving innovation, the SMiRT 26 technical programme will also include all familiar topics concerning Structural Mechanics in Reactor Technology. In addition to that, you may add value to the conference by setting up complementary pre- or post-conference seminars. Please contact the SMiRT 26 secretariat via e-mail, if you are interested in organising a seminar.


Maritim Hotel Berlin

Stauffenbergstr. 26
10785 Berlin


For reservation in the conference hotel:

Booking code: 1DGZ070821

The rates below are guaranteed for bookings made until 31 March 2021

  Superior  Comfort  Classic
Single room 129.00 € 119.00 € 109.00 €
Double room 169.00 € 159.00 € 149.00 €

For bookings after 31 March 2021 the regular daily rate is valid. This rate can be much higher.
5 % discount on the daily rate will be granted for bookings via the online booking form using the booking code above.

Booking form

Dates & Downloads

Key Dates

  • Call for abstracts: end of July 2020
  • Deadline for abstract submission: 30 November 2020
  • Notification of abstract acceptance: end of February 2021
  • Deadline for registration & payment of presenting authors: 31 March 2021
  • Conference: 8 – 13 August 2021